Fencing

Last September, I dug a circle to throw our compost into and I planted 3 banana trees, 3 papaya trees and some sweet potatoes around the edge.

IMG_4596-Optimized

 

Within just a month the circle was bursting with life!

IMG_4944-Optimized

 

 

However, some months later into the dry season, all I have left of the circle is 1 banana plant.  There are so many untethered goats and sheep in this area, and once the grass is finished they come looking for other plants to eat – and unfortunately found my circle and ate 3 papayas and 2 bananas and all of my sweet potatoes.

 

IMG_6340-Optimized

 

Animals need to be tethered or fenced!  But thats another story.  In the meantime, I need to fence my banana circle.  I have some chicken wire and some long sticks saved from pruning which will have to do the job.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

